Aktuell | JESS! PR - Jörn Seidel Promotion

Ian Gillan "One Eye To Morocco" (edel, VÖ: 06. März 2009)

Rick Vito

Ian Gillan, one of the greatest rock singers of all times renown as a member of Deep Purple, though he also led bands named after himself.

Gillan was the driving force of classic Deep Purple MkII that in the 70s changed rock fashions through a series of successful records — Concerto for Group and Orchestra (1970), Deep Purple in Rock (1970), Fireball (1971; number one U.K.), Machine Head (1972; number one U.K.; Top Ten, multi-platinum U.S.), Made in Japan (1973; Top Ten, platinum U.S.), and Who Do We Think We Are (1973; Top Five U.K.; Top 20, gold U.S.).

In the meantime, he was also featured on Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice‘s concept album Jesus Christ Superstar singing the title role; the gold-sell-ing double LP topped the U.S. charts in 1971.

As a solo artist, Ian Gillan enjoyed a lot of success too, in 1980, seven years after leaving Deep Purple (the band split in 1975, two years after Gillan’s departure) Gillan signed to Virgin Records and scored a British singles chart entry with „Sleeping on the Job“ in June 1980, followed by “Glory Road”, which peaked in the Top Five and charted briefly in the U.S. Thus established, Gillan scored a series of Top 40 singles and Top 20 albums in the U.K. over the next two years: „Trouble“ (1980); „Mutually Assured Destruction“ (1981); “New Orleans“ (1981); “Future Shock” (1981), „No Laughing in Heaven“ (1981); „Nightmare“ (1981); “Double Trouble” (1981) and “Magic” (1982).

In May 1983, he surprised fans by joining Black Sabbath for the recording of their album Born Again and toured with the band from August to March 1984. In March 1984, the 1969-1973 lineup of Deep Purple, including Gillan reunited and soon after they cut the million-selling „Perfect Strangers“ and „The House of Blue Light“ (1987).

Since then Ian Gillan divided his energy between Deep Purple, the hard rock legend (signed to edel records since the release of „Rapture of the Deep“) and his solo production. His latest official release is the critically acclaimed „Live in Anaheim“ on CD and DVD by edel records.

Despite Deep Purple have often been called „Heavy Metal Pioneers“, Ian Gillan never felt he really belonged to that music category.
His all time music inspiration and heroes are names such as James Brown, Ray Charles, Little Richard and the rockers of the 50s.
It‘s with no surprise that all true Ian Gillan coinosseurs will find all these influences on „One Eye To Morocco“, the new studio album written and
recorded with the line up that made „Live in Anaheim“ one of the best live albums Gillan has ever released.

A 100% rock album, „One Eye To Morocco“ will conquer new and old Gillan fans with an impressive collection of songs showing a big variety of moods and colours. From classic Gillan rock and roll, to the arabic sound of the title track, soulful ballads and bluesy mid-tempos.

Classic rock at its best with no single filler. A true Ian Gillan classic that will surely make all fans of Deep Purple and Gillan solo happy but will also appeal to good quality classic pop rock fans for the excellent level of the songwriting and Gillan’s eclectic vocal approach: free from the schemes of the Hard Rocker screaming frontman, Ian Gillan showes a soulful and warm voice that magically changes through the different moods of the album and still remains the recognisable voice of one of the most loved bands in rock history.



1. One Eye to Morocco
2. No Lotion for That
3. Don’t Stop
4. Change My Ways
5. Girl Goes to Show
6. Better Days
7. Deal with it
8. Ultimate Groove
9. Lonely Days
10. Texas State of Mind
11. It Would Be Nice
12. Always The Traveller Ltd. Edition:

Digi-pak with exclusive track: “The Sky Is Falling Down”


Material zum Downloaden gibt's hier: